NEAC East Division Women's Tennis All-Conference Announced

Castleton senior Michelle Podnecky was chosen as the North Eastern Athletic Conference East Division Player of the Year in a vote by the conference coaches. Podnecky has earned the award three years in a row and has compiled a combined 34-2 record in conference competition at #1 singles and doubles over that span. Podnecky was honored as a first team selection as both a singles and doubles player.

Thomas first-year Jessica Bowen earned conference Rookie of the Year honors, compiling six total wins against conference opponents at #1 singles and doubles.

Castleton's Rob Purdy and Colby-Sawyer's Barry Schoonmaker shared Coach of the Year honors. The two teams finished tied atop the NEAC East standings at 6-1, and after splitting a pair of regular season matches, Purdy's Spartans came out on top in a 5-4 marathon for the division title.

Johnson State received the Team Sportsmanship Award for the third-straight season.

NEAC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches.

2011 NEAC East Division All-Conference Team

Singles First Team    
Kate Bucci Sr Castleton
Kayla Flynn So
Liz Lincoln
Michelle Podnecky Sr Castleton
Brittni Racine Sr Castleton
Claire Toffey Jr Colby-Sawyer

Doubles First Team    
Liz Lincoln/Claire Toffey
Brittni Racine/Chelsea Crehan
Michele Podnecky/Kate Bucci   Castleton
Player of the Year    
Michelle Podnecky Sr Castleton
Rookie of the Year    
Jessica Bowen
Fr Thomas
Co-Coaches of the Year    
Rob Purdy   Castleton
Barry Schoonmaker   Colby-Sawyer
Team Sportsmanship Award    
Johnson State