NAC 2019 Men's Tennis All-Conference Honors


The Thomas College Men's Tennis team earned a complete sweep of the 2019 North Atlantic Conference (NAC) major awards, led by Coach of the Year Rob Disch. Junior Ryan Chasse (Fort Kent, Maine) was selected as the Player of the Year, freshman Yontz Sutton (Hamilton, Bermuda) was selected as the Rookie of the Year, and senior Christo Naranja (Fort Kent, Maine) claimed the Senior Scholar Athlete honor.

Six players were named to the All-Conference singles team, three duos made the All-Conference doubles team, and five student-athletes were selected to the NAC Sportsmanship team.

NAC All-Conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches. 



Thomas College junior Ryan Chasse (Fort Kent, Maine) is the 2019 Men's Tennis Player of the Year. Chasse was unstoppable in the first singles position, earning a 4-0 record in conference matches. He dropped only one game across the four matches, earning a 6-0, 6-1 win and three 6-0, 6-0 triumphs. He and #1 doubles partner, Kaleb Payson were also perfect, earning a 4-0 conference record. The pair lost a total of 4 games across four matches, earning two wins 8-2 and two wins 8-0. Chasse was impressive all season, earned NAC Player of the Week honors for the period ending March 17, and was selected to the All-Conference singles and doubles teams.


Thomas College freshman Yontz Sutton (Hamilton, Bermuda) is the 2019 NAC Men's Tennis Rookie of the Year. Sutton made an incredible impact for the Terriers in his first collegiate season, earning undefeated records in both singles and doubles matches. He was dominant at the #4 singles position, earning four easy wins while losing a total of three games out of 51. Sutton paired with junior Jared Waterhouse at #2 doubles and won four out of four conference matches. Sutton was twice selected as the NAC Rookie of the Week (March 31 and April 14), and was selected to the All-Conference singles and doubles teams.




Thomas College senior Christo Naranja (Fort Kent, Maine) is the 2019 NAC Men's Tennis Senior Scholar Athlete. Naranja majors in Marketing Management and carries a 3.78 GPA into graduation. He is an active member of the Entrepreneurs Club, Music Club, and is also a student supervisor for campus intramurals. He is a dual sport athlete who also competes for the Terriers' cross country team. The Dean's List student appeared in two conference matches, playing #3 doubles with partner Jose Afonso and earning wins in both matches (8-0 and 8-1). He also won a #5 singles match against MCLA, 6-2, 6-1.  



Thomas College head coach Rob Disch earns his second-consecutive NAC Coach of the Year honors in 2019. Disch joined the Thomas staff in 2018 and collected Co-Coach of the Year honors in his first season. He also led the Terriers to the championship match last year where they fell to perennial favorite Colby-Sawyer. Disch's men earned five Player/Rookie of the Week honors this spring, four All-Conference singles nods, and two All-Conference doubles awards while sweeping all three major conference accolades. Going undefeated (4-0) in NAC play, and 11-4 overall, Thomas owns a seven-match win streak (and 10 of last 11) heading into the tournament. Thomas last won the NAC championship in 2004-05, and Disch is on the hunt for first NAC Championship for Thomas Men's Tennis in over a decade.


Joining Chasse and Sutton on the All-Conference Singles Team are their doubles partners Kaleb Payson and Jared Waterhouse, as well as Neal Mulligan of Northern Vermont-Lyndon, and Charles Najimy of MCLA.

SUNY Delhi No. 1 doubles partners Marcos Andrino and Payton Dean join the Thomas duos of Chasse/Payson and Waterhouse/Sutton on the All-Conference Doubles Team.

The NAC Men's Tennis Sportsmanship Team is reserved for student athletes who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the men's tennis culture and match environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that goes beyond the tennis playing rules and etiquette. The 2019 honorees include All-Conference players Mulligan (NVU-Lyndon) and Andrino (SUNY Delhi), as well as Charles Najimy (MCLA), Jose Afonso (Thomas), and Donell Shaw (Northern Vermont-Johnson).

2019 NAC Men's Tennis All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE

All-Conference Singles
Ryan Chasse, Junior, Thomas
Kaleb Payson, Junior, Thomas
Charles Najimy, Sophomore, MCLA
Yontz Sutton, Freshman, Thomas
Jared Waterhouse, Junior, Thomas
Neal Mulligan, Junior, Northern Vermont-Lyndon

All-Conference Doubles
Thomas - Ryan Chasse, Junior / Kaleb Payson, Junior
Thomas - Jared Waterhouse, Junior / Yontz Sutton, Freshman
SUNY Delhi - Marcos Andrino, Senior / Payton Dean, Junior

Player of the Year
Ryan Chasse, Thomas

Rookie of the Year
Yontz Sutton, Thomas

Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year
Christo Naranja, Thomas

Coach of the Year
Rob Disch, Thomas

Sportsmanship Team
Marcos Andrino, Senior, SUNY Delhi
Donell Shaw, Senior, NVU-Johnson
Neal Mulligan, Junior, NVU-Lyndon
Charles Najimy, Sophomore, MCLA
Jose Afonso, Sophomore, Thomas


The NAC men's tennis championship tournament is Saturday, April 27. Click here for more information.