2016 NAC East Men's Tennis All-Conference Announced: Agresta, Jigrup & Wright Earn Top Honors

Colby-Sawyer sophomore Gustav Jigrup (Vastra Frolunda, Sweden) has been selected as the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) East Division Men's Tennis Player of the Year, while Charger teammate Alex Wright (St. Austell, Cornwall, England) was tabbed Rookie of the Year and Lyndon's Dominick Agresta (Barnegat, N.J.) was named the Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year. Colby-Sawyer head coach Barry Schoonmaker was voted the 2016 NAC East Coach of the Year and seven men's tennis student-athletes were selected to the Sportsmanship Team to headline the 2016 All-Conference announcement.

NAC East All-Conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches.

Jigrup has had an impressive sophomore campaign recording an 11-3 overall mark in singles, 9-3 at No. 1 and 2-0 at No. 3, so far this season. In conference action, he went a perfect 5-0 at the top-flight in singles and 4-0 at No. 1 doubles and 1-0 at No. 2 doubles. One of his most impressive conference victories was his 7-5, 6-4 win over Green Mountain's Connor Braden, as he gave the Eagles' top player his first and only loss of the season. Jigrup has also been stellar out of conference helping his team claim wins over two Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) rivals. He earned his team a point at No. 3 singles to lead Colby-Sawyer to a 6-3 win over the CCC's top team, Nichols, which was the first time in seven years that the Chargers have beaten the Bison. Most recently, Jigrup claimed a victory over Gordon's No. 1, who currently sits at 13-2, to help his team earn a 5-4 victory. The sophomore has also claimed some impressive out of division singles victories, as he beat two Division II players, Bentley's No. 1 and Southern New Hampshire's No. 3, while also earning a win against Division I Siena's top-player, leading Colby-Sawyer to a 4-3 victory.


Wright has been an incredible addition to the Charger lineup as he has tallied a perfect 5-0 singles record in conference play, going 1-0 at No. 1 and 4-0 at No. 2. The rookie also recorded an unblemished 4-0 mark in NAC doubles action with a 1-0 record at No. 2 and a 3-0 record at No. 3. One of his most impressive conference victories was his 6-2, 6-1 win over Castleton's Soren Pelz-Walsh, as he gave the six-time NAC East Rookie of the Week selection his first and only loss of the season. In a 5-4 non-conference win over CCC rival Endicott, Wright claimed a 6-0, 6-4 victory at No. 2 singles against a player who has earned 13 wins on the season. The freshman also beat Division I Siena's No. 2 singles player to help lead his team to 4-3 victory.


Agresta has been selected as the first men's tennis Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year. He is being recognized for excelling academically and athletically throughout his undergraduate experience, while serving as a role model in both the classroom and on the court. Notably, the senior is majoring in both Social Science and Business, while also dual minoring in History and Russian Eurasian Studies. He has been named to the Dean's List as well as the President's List at Lyndon and was awarded the Robert E. Long Scholarship in the Fall of 2014. When Agresta is not in class or studying, he spends time tutoring other students in business accounting. On the court, he has earned several victories in conference action including a win at No. 2 doubles against both Johnson State and Green Mountain, while also claiming No. 2 and No. 3 singles victories over Johnson and MCLA.




Schoonmaker has earned his second NAC East Coach of the Year award after previously claiming the title during the 2012-13 season. The seven-year mentor directed the Chargers to a 12-5 overall record, including a flawless 6-0 mark in conference play to earn the No. 1 seed in the upcoming conference tournament. Since joining the league in the fall of 2011, Schoonmaker has led the Chargers to an undefeated 28-0 regular season conference record, four-consecutive NAC East Championships, and three-straight NAC Crossover Championships. 

Joining Jigrup and Wright on the first team singles all-conference squad were junior Charger teammate Ryan Sawyer (Edgartown, Mass.), Green Mountain senior Connor Braden (Lafayette, Ind.), and Thomas sophomore Zachary Disch (Waterville, Maine) and senior Tyler Small (Surry, Maine).

First team doubles selections include Castleton juniors Seth Marcil (Brattleboro, Vt.) and Kevin Rosset (Crans-Montana, Switzerland), the Colby-Sawyer duo of Jigrup and sophomore Andrew Peloquin (Greenville, R.I.), and the Thomas tandem of Disch and Small.

Second team singles honorees include Castleton's Marcil, Rosset, junior Quentin Barthe (France), and senior Soren Pelz-Walsh (Dummerston, Vt.), MCLA sophomore Aaron Goldsmith (Mattapan, Mass.), and Thomas senior Joseph Greco (Greene, Maine).

Second team doubles choices include the Castleton pair of Barthe and Pelz-Walsh, Colby-Sawyer partners Sawyer and junior Dean Boodakian (Burlington, Mass.), and the MCLA team of Goldsmith and junior Robert Wabshinak (Brewster, N.Y.).

New to the conference this season is the selection of a Sportsmanship Team which is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the men's tennis culture and match environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the tennis playing rules and etiquette. The following seven individuals have been selected to the NAC East Men's Tennis Sportsmanship Team, Castleton's Barthe, Colby-Sawyer sophomore Ross Kenney (Hampton Falls, N.H.), Green Mountain's Braden, Johnson State senior Cole Hennessy (Colton, N.Y.), Lyndon junior Michael Sigsbury (Pownal, Vt.), MCLA  junior Jeffrey Mason (Chicopee, Mass.), and Thomas' Greco.

2016 NAC East Division Men's Tennis All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE 

First Team Singles
Connor Braden, Senior, Green Mountain
Zachary Disch, Sophomore, Thomas
Gustav Jigrup, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
Ryan Sawyer, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Tyler Small, Senior, Thomas
Alex Wright, Freshman, Colby-Sawyer

First Team Doubles
Castleton - Seth Marcil, Junior / Kevin Rosset, Junior  
Colby-Sawyer - Gustav Jigrup, Sophomore / Andrew Peloquin, Sophomore
Thomas - Zachary Disch, Sophomore / Tyler Small, Senior 

Second Team Singles
Quentin Barthe, Junior, Castleton
Aaron Goldsmith, Sophomore, MCLA
Joseph Greco, Senior, Thomas
Seth Marcil, Junior, Castleton
Soren Pelz-Walsh, Senior, Castleton
Kevin Rosset, Junior, Castleton

Second Team Doubles
Castleton - Quentin Barthe, Junior / Soren Pelz-Walsh, Senior
Colby-Sawyer - Dean Boodakian, Junior / Ryan Sawyer, Junior
MCLA - Aaron Goldsmith, Sophomore / Robert Wabshinak, Junior

Player of the Year
Gustav Jigrup, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
Rookie of the Year
Alex Wright, Freshman, Colby-Sawyer
Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year
Dominick Agresta, Senior, Lyndon
Coach of the Year
Barry Schoonmaker, Seventh Season, Colby-Sawyer

Sportsmanship Team
Quentin Barthe, Junior, Castleton
Connor Braden, Senior, Green Mountain
Joseph Greco, Senior, Thomas 
Cole Hennessy, Senior, Johnson State
Ross Kenney, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
Jeffrey Mason, Junior, MCLA
Michael Sigsbury, Junior, Lyndon