SUNY Canton upsets SUNY Delhi in the First NAC Men's Soccer Quarterfinal Game

Oneonta, New York - Sixth-seeded SUNY Canton won the first quarterfinal game of the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Men's Soccer Championship tournament, 1-0, against #3 SUNY Delhi at SUNY Oneonta's Red Dragon Field on Sunday, November 3rd.

The Canton Roos struck early with a goal scored by Shayne O'Neill off an assist from Will Austin ten minutes into the game. The game-winner was O'Neill's only shot of the game.

The Roos had a chance to notch an insurance goal when a foul in the box in the 56th minute gave Connor Bruyn a penalty kick, but Delhi goalkeeper Corey O'Toole made the save. O'Toole had 4 saves in the loss.

SUNY Delhi held possession for much of the game and kept Canton's goal keeper, Dawson Pellerin, busy with 22 shots and 12 shots on goal. Pellerin made 12 saves in the win.

The Broncos had one last chance with a scrum in the box with 13 seconds remaining, but the shot by defender John Cabrera sailed high.

Each team drew four corner kicks and 12 fouls in the physical contest.

SUNY Canton advances to the final four and will take on #2 Thomas at #1 Maine Maritime Academy in Castine, Maine next weekend. Semifinal games are scheduled for Saturday, November 9th with game times to be determined on Monday. The Championship game will be at 2:30 pm on Sunday, November 10th.

The season comes to a close for SUNY Delhi at 9-8.



Men's Soccer 2019 Championship Tournament

All dates and times are subject to change and will be updated accordingly.

Quarterfinals - Sunday, Nov. 3 (at higher seed)

#3 SUNY Delhi 0 / #6 SUNY Canton 1

#4 Husson (6-12, 5-3) vs. #5 UMaine-Farmington (10-7, 4-4) -- Sunday, November 3 at 1:00 PM at Husson

Semifinals - Saturday, Nov. 9 (at #1 Maine Maritime - game times are 4:30 and 7:00 PM - the order is to be determined.)

#1 Maine Maritime (12-3-1, 7-1) vs. #4Husson/#5 UMaine-Farmington

#2 Thomas (8-8-1, 7-1) vs. #6 SUNY Canton (7-9-2)

Championship - Sunday, Nov. 10, 2:30 PM (at Maine Maritime)

Semifinal Winners TBD