NAC Men’s Basketball All-Conference Teams Announced

Thomas sophomore guard Andrew Duncanson was named the North Atlantic Conference Player of the Year in a vote by the conference coaches. Duncanson, the 2008 NAC Rookie of the Year, led the league in scoring averaging 21.6 points per conference contest and was among the league leaders in assists (4.2 apg), steals (1.8 spg), free throw percentage (81.6%) and field goal percentage (47.7%).

Husson’s Brock Bradford earned first-team accolades for the second consecutive season. The junior guard led the conference in assists (5.7 apg), was second in the conference in free-throw percentage (88.9%), three-point percentage (45.3%) and ranked fourth in steals (1.9 spg).

Bradford’s teammate junior Matt MacKenzie also received first-team all-conference honors. MacKenzie averaged 20.6 points while shooting 62.8% from the field. The duo led Husson to an 11-3 conference mark.

First-team selection Josh Tanguay averaged 15.2 points as a junior for Maine-Farmington. The center led the conference in field goal percentage, shooting 68.4% from the floor, while placing among the league leaders in blocks and offensive rebounds.

Lyndon State senior center Brad Durr completes the NAC men’s basketball all-conference first team. ranked in the top five among his peers in conference minutes played, field goals made, free throws made, blocks and points. Durr averaged 18.9 points and 9.9 rebounds per contest while shooting 50.0% from the floor.

Thomas freshman forward Shawn Rodgers earned NAC Rookie of the Year honors. The first year forward led the conference in rebounding averaging 10.9 caroms per conference contest. Rodgers, who averaged 11.7 points while shooting 58.1% from the field, teamed with Duncanson to engineer a turnaround at Thomas that saw the Terriers improve nine wins in conference play from a season ago.

After leading his team to the top seed in the NAC tournament, Thomas’ T.J. Maines was named the NAC Coach of the Year while the University of Maine at Farmington was honored with the Team Sportsmanship Award. NAC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches. Additional players honored are due to ties in the voting.

View Complete Release

2008-09 Men's Basketball All-Conference Teams

First Team
Brock Bradford Jr. G Husson
Andrew Duncanson So. G Thomas
Brad Durr Sr. C Lyndon St.
Matt MacKenzie Jr. F Husson
Josh Tanguay Jr. C Maine Farmington
Second Team
Fabian Ferreira Sr. G Green Mountain
John Foley Sr. F Johnson St.
Gerard Johnson So. F Green Mountain
Cesar Martinez Sr. G Lyndon St.
Bobby Shedd Sr. F Johnson St.
Honorable Mention
Isaiah Brathwaite So. G/F Thomas
Rui Carmo Jr. F Green Mountain
Derek DiFrederico Sr. G Maine Maritime
Jake Manner Sr. C Maine Maritime
Eric Taylor So. F Maine Farmington
Player of the Year
Andrew Duncanson G So. Thomas
Rookie of the Year
Shawn Rodgers F Fr. Thomas
Coach of the Year
T.J. Maines     Thomas
Team Sportsmanship Award
University of Maine at Farmington